ATEX Certification

Home » ATEX Certification

ATEX Directive 2014/34/EU-ATEX Directive 2014/34/EU – covering equipment and protective systems intended for use in potentially explosive atmospheres

Sometimes Industrial Environments creates an increased risk of fire and explosion, due to the usage of flammable gases, vapours or combustible dusts. These potentially hazardous environments, also known as “Ex areas” (explosive areas), are found in a range of industries, including oil and gas refineries and distribution facilities, chemical processing plants, grain and agricultural handling, processing and storage facilities, underground mines, and even hospital operating environments.

Equipment used in these hazardous environments must therefore be expressly designed to minimize such risks, and manufacturers of electrical, non-electrical, electronic, mechanical equipment and systems must ensure that their products meet the enhanced requirements of applicable regulations and standards.

In the European Union (EU), compliance with the essential requirements of EU Directive 2014/34/EU, also known as the ATEX Directive, is required for equipment used in potentially explosive environments.

ATEX Directive 2014/34/EU

If you manufacture or sell equipment and systems of this nature, VA Certification Services can ensure you conform to the relevant ATEX Directives and entitle you to feature the CE mark.

Equipment, components and protective systems in a potentially explosive environment can only be placed on the market if essential health and safety requirements according to the ATEX Directive 2014/34/EU have been met, and the required conformity assessment procedures for your category of equipment have been successfully completed.


  • Equipment: Machinery, electrical equipment, fixtures, control equipment, and parts
  • Protection Systems: Explosion suppression systems and relief systems and others
  • Components: Components required for the safe operation of equipment and protective systems


Annex II of the Directive addresses design and construction requirements for equipment and protective systems, whereas the specific technical requirements for various types of equipment and operating environments are found in individual harmonized standards. Compliance with the technical requirements in these standards serves as the primary basis for ATEX certification.

For non-electrical and electrical products, Annex I of the ATEX Directive identifies three separate categories of equipment, with Category 1 and Category 2 applicable to equipment used in higher risk areas, and Category 3 applicable to equipment used in low risk areas.

For Manufacturers of Electrical Equipment, the following conformity assessment procedure needs to be followed:

For products falling under Category 1 and 2: Products needs to be tested and certified by EU Notified Body and shall also present evidence of Maintaining quality System duly certified by a Notified Body (QAN).

For Category 2 Non Electrical Equipment – it does not require Notified Body assessment but the technical documentation must be stored by an Approved Notified Body Listed in EU Nando Database as per ATEX Directive.

For further details and process for ATEX certification, please contact us

For more details,
please fill the below form and we will get back to you.